Skip to main content
LSU Law Logo

LSU Law National Moot Court team has strong showing at Memphis regional

Third-year students, from left, Indigo Diekmann, Katelyn Bayhi and Michael Maldonado.

The LSU Law Tom Fore Phillips National Moot Court Team had a strong showing regional round of the National Moot Court Competition held at the University of Memphis over the weekend.

The team—consisting of third-year students Michael Maldonado, Indigo Diekmann and Katelyn Bayhi—won all its preliminary round matches and beat Cumberland Law School in the quarterfinals. The team came within an inch of going to New York for the national finals, losing to the host school and eventual regional champion, University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, in the semi-finals.

LSU Law thanks all of those who helped the team prepare for the national competition this year by serving as judges for oral argument practice, including: Dean Tom Galligan; Professors Christine Corcos, Nicholas Bryner, Darlene Goring, William Corbett, Pedro Gerson and Jeffrey Brooks; LSU Law student Taylor Ashworth; Solicitor General Liz Murrill; and Skip Phillips, Ryan French and Coulter McMahen of Taylor Porter. The team was co-coached by Professor John Devlin and Advocacy teaching Fellow Anna Scardulla.