Intellectual Property Moot Court Team Wins Best Brief

LSU Law students David Schroeter and Anna Scardulla, members of the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) Giles Sutherland Rich Moot Court Team, brought home an award for “Best Brief for the Appellee” at the regional rounds of the competition, which were held March 15 to 17 in Houston.  The team also placed in the top eight teams at the regional competition. 

Hosted by the AIPLA, the competition is now in its 40th year and is one of the nation’s largest moot court competitions.  This year’s problem examined a case of patent infringement and the standards to be applied to preliminary injunctions in the patent law content.  The team is coached by alumni Warner Delaune (’91) of Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC and Jeanne Davis (’95) of Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips LLP, with assistance from Professor Lee Ann Lockridge.