LSU Law National Moot Court Team Advances to National Championship

LSU Law Hosts Regional Competition

The LSU Law Center Advocacy Programs hosted one of the regional rounds of the National Moot Court Competition November 8 and 9.  LSU Law’s National Moot Court Team of Samuel Lumpkin, Samuel Crichton, and Jordan Stone placed second in the regional competition, advancing to the national championship that will be held in New York City in January 2013.  The competition was held in the courtrooms of the 19th Judicial District Courthouse in downtown Baton Rouge. Final round judges included the Honorable James Brady of the United States District Court for the Middle District of Louisiana and the Honorable Kay Bates and the Honorable William Morvant of the 19thJudicial District Court.

L to R: Moot Court President Anna Brown, Jordan Stone, Samuel Lumpkin, Samuel Crichton, Moot Court VP External Competitions Chelsea Gomez

Sponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, the National Moot Court Competition is the oldest moot court competition in the United States and is generally considered to be one of the premiere appellate advocacy tournaments in the world. 

Teams of students from law schools in Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee wrote briefs and presented oral arguments to panels of experienced judges, including a number of Fellows of the American College of Trial Lawyers, in Lockte vs. Franklin, a hypothetical case pending before the United States Supreme Court.  The case concerns the extent to which a person may videotape a police officer during the course of their duties and under what circumstances a police officer may search the contents of a cell phone during an arrest. 

“LSU’s Advocacy Programs were honored to have been selected as one of the regional hosts for the National Moot Court competition,” said Professor Jeff Brooks, Preis & Roy Director of Advocacy and Professional Practice.  “We were fortunate to have the assistance and support of the Baton Rouge Bar Association, the American College of Trial Lawyers, and the judges of the 19th Judicial District, without whom the competition would not have been the great success that it was.  Events like the National Moot Court provide students with unparalleled opportunities to develop and showcase their skills as advocates and litigators.  Competitions like the National Moot Court provide students with the opportunity to develop skills that are crucial to their future success, and the Law Center is fortunate to have a strong community of experienced alumni who donate generously of their time and experience to further students’ skills development.”

The following law schools competed in the regional competition:

Cumberland School of Law, Samford University
Faulkner University, Jones School of Law
Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center
Loyola University New Orleans School of Law
Mississippi College School of Law
University of Alabama Law School
University of Memphis Law School
University of Mississippi Law Center
University of Tennessee College of Law
Vanderbilt University Law School