LSU Law Review Banquet Held


LSU Law Review Volume 70 Board of Editors

Front row (seated) l to r:  Casey Faucon (executive senior editor), Christopher Odinet (editor-in-chief), Matthew Juneau (articles editor), Gina Palermo (senior editor)
Back row (standing) l to r
:  Carmen Hebert (senior editor), Kelly Brilleaux (senior editor), Keith Fernandez (senior editor), Sarah Perkins (managing editor), Sarah Cable (production editor)

More than 40 Law Review members and just as many Law Review alumni, professors, and guests were in attendance at the LSU Law Review Annual Dinner and Banquet held April 10, 2010 at Juban’s Restaurant in Baton Rouge.

Editor-in-chief Chris Odinet welcomed the guests and Matthew Juneau, articles editor introduced the Thomas Galligan, President and Professor of Humanities at Colby-Sawyer College, as the special guest and keynote speaker for the event.

Honored at the banquet were Albert O. “Chip” Saulsbury, IV who received the 2009-2010 Vincent & Elkins Award for the outstanding comment or note written by a Louisiana Law Review candidate and Thomas Hooks received the Volume 70 W. Lee Hargrave Award for outstanding service to the Louisiana Law Review as a candidate.

Special guest and speaker Galligan taught at the LSU Law Center from 1986-1998. He was named the Dale E. Bennett Professor of Law and was honored by the students as the Outstanding LSU Professor six times.

Galligan has published numerous books and articles on torts and admiralty. His scholarship has been cited in the proposed Restatement (Third) of Torts and by numerous legal scholars. Galligan’s work has also been cited by the United States Supreme Court and other federal and state appellate and trial courts.

His co-authored scholarship with Professor Frank L. Maraist has been honored by the Louisiana Bar Journal and the Tulane Law Review. Recently, Galligan was honored with the University of Tennessee National Alumni Association Public Service Award for 2006 and the Knoxville Bar Association’s Law and Liberty Award.