S. Gene Fendler Named President of Alumni Board of Trustees; Executive Committee Also Appointed


S. Gene Fendler of New Orleans has been named President of the LSU Law Center Alumni Board of Trustees by Chancellor Jack M. Weiss. Fendler, of Liskow and Lewis, is a long-time member of the alumni advisory board, and he will serve a two-year term as President, beginning Spring 2010.

“We are all fortunate to have as able a person as Gene Fendler to carry on with the leadership of our Board. Gene is someone who cares deeply about the LSU Law Center, and he is anxious to move the Board into new and interesting directions,” said Chancellor Weiss. “He succeeds Oliver ‘Rick’ Richard (‘77), who has been a generous and good friend to the Law Center, as well as an outstanding leader of our Board since Fall 2005.” 

Fendler was first appointed a member of the LSU Law Alumni Board of Trustees in Fall 2005. He is a 1973 graduate of LSU Law Center and a former member of the Louisiana Law Review.  He often appears as a guest lecturer at the Law Center. Fendler served as the president and managing partner of Liskow and Lewis from 2003 – 2009.  His litigation and trial experiences span more that 35 years in both casualty and business matters.  Prior to joining the firm, Fendler served as a law clerk to the Honorable Alvin B. Rubin, District Judge, United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana. Fendler was formerly vice-chair of the Maritime and Energy Law Committee of the International Association of Defense Counsel and currently serves as treasurer of the Louisiana Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates. He is a licensed private pilot. 

Also named to the Executive Committee of the Alumni Board of Trustees are:  Craig W. Murray (’76) of Vinson & Elkins, Vice-President; Darrell J. Papillion (‘94), Walters Papillion Thomas & Cullen, Chair of the Law Center’s Annual Fund; Paul S. West (’80), Baker Donelson, Chair of the Law Center’s Chancellor’s Council; W. Shelby McKenzie (’64) of Taylor, Porter Brooks & Phillips, Chair of the LSU Law Center Traditions of Excellence Campaign; John T. Nesser III (’99) of McDermott International, At-Large Member; Cyd Sheree Page (’84) of Voorhies & Labbe, At-Large Member; Norma Bennett (‘2000), Chair, Young Alumni Leadership Council; and, Oliver “Rick” Richard, Immediate Past President.