LSU Law Students Win Team and Individual Honors at National Moot Court Competitions

Teams of LSU Law students have represented the Law Center over the last month at Moot Court and Trial Competitions throughout the country including tournaments in Houston, New York, Washington D.C. and New Orleans. Six of our teams returned with individual and team honors. These students presented written and oral arguments in diverse legal areas, including international law, national security, tax, sports law, environmental, and constitutional law. Five more teams will compete later this semester.

Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition
The LSU team of David Maples, Micah Fincher, Erin Cesta, David May and Meagan Messina were crowned Southwest Superregional Champions and will represent the United States in the International Jessup Competition.

Moot Court National Championship Team
The LSU team of Andre Gaudin, Jr., Bridget Hillebrand, and Charlotte Youngblood finished as national quarterfinalists in the Moot Court National Championship. Charlotte Youngblood finished 2nd place in the Individual Advocate category. The Moot Court National Championship was held in Houston and is an invitation-only tournament consisting of the top-16 ranked moot court programs in the country.

National Security Law Moot Court Competition
The LSU team of Bruce Hamilton and Vey Laplace finished as national semifinalists in the National Security Moot Court Competition.

Mardi Gras Invitational National Sports Law Tournament
The LSU team of Hallie Pilcher, Michael West and Russ Woodard finished as national quarterfinalists in the Sports Law Moot Court Championship.

Environmental Law Moot Court Competition
The LSU team of Taylor Bassett, Beaux Jones, and Charlotte Youngblood competed in the National Environmental Moot Court Competition at Pace University Law School in New York. Out of 84 competing teams, the LSU team had the “best oralist” in two of three preliminary rounds and team member Charlotte Youngblood received an honorable mention award for being “second-best” individual oralist.

National Taxation Moot Court Competition
The LSU team of Richard Bond, Druit Gremillion, and Bridget Hillebrand finished as national quarterfinalist in the National Taxation Moot Court Competition. This is the sixth year in a row that the LSU team has made the quarterfinal round or better at the Tax Competition.

First Amendment Moot Court Competition
The LSU team of Michael Smith and Stephanie Borghardt represented the Law Center at the First Amendment Moot Court Competition in Nashville, TN.

National Trial Competition
William Murray, Lauren Nero, Stephanie Murphy, Michelle Bergeron, LaToya Jordan, and Stephanie Hulett represented the Law Center at the National Trial Competition in Austin, TX.