LSU Law Center Students Recognized for Excellence in Trial Advocacy

The LSU Law Center recently held two school-wide events – tryouts for the National Trial Team and the 3rd Annual Opening Statement Competition.

The following students were selected to the National Trial Team and will represent the Law Center this fall at National Trial competitions, the National Pretrial Competition, and the ABA American Arbitration Competition. Those students include: Robert Abendroth, Michelle Anderson, Michelle Bergeron, Airzola Cleaves, David Conachen, Megan Donohue, Andre Gaudin, Bridget Hillebrand, LaToya Jordan, Dax Mallory, William Murray, Stephanie Noriea, Alana Odom, Lauren Pinac, Adam Savoie, Mackenzie Smith, Michael Smith, and Celeste White.

In the Opening Statement Competition, Michelle Bergeron and Mia Etienne were named winners. More than 60 second-year law students competed in the event, with each presenting opening statements in a civil matter involving a disabled prison guard who claimed he was discriminated against after being terminated.

Fourteen students advanced to the competition’s final round, which was judged by Assistant Attorney General Jude Bourque, Assistant U.S. Attorney Catherine Maraist and John-Ed Bishop.

Judges in the preliminary rounds included attorneys James Carver, Laranda Moffett Walker, Kathryn Sheely, Nicole Loup, and Alexander Burns; Professor Kathy Simino and third-year law student, Adam Savoie, president of the Trial Advocacy Board.

The Opening Statement Competition began at the Law Center as a tradition in 2006 with the goal of introducing second-year law students to trial advocacy.