2008 Trial Advocacy Program Set for August 11-13

LSU Law students will have a chance to practice their trial advocacy skills during a unique program involving mentors from throughout the nation. From cross-examination to voir dire jury selection, third-year students will role play and receive their critiques from some of the nation’s leading experts in courtroom practices.

The annual Trial Advocacy program will be held August 11-13, at the LSU Law Center. Nearly 200 third-year students will participate in the program, which involves three days of intensive “learning by doing.” Participants will act as trial counsel and simulate actual trial skills under the experienced eyes of the select seminar faculty. The program follows the methods pioneered by the National Institute for Trial Advocacy and includes role playing, critique, videotaping of performances, videotape critique, lectures and demonstrations by the faculty.

Legal professionals from around the country will serve as team leaders and faculty for the program.

Those serving as team leaders include Michael P. Cash, Judge Durwood W. Conque, Michael J. Henke, Yul D. Lorio, Lisa M. McGarry, John D. Person, Walter M. Sanchez, Dean A. Sutherland, Melanie Talia and Lisa K. Vaughn.

Serving as faculty members will be Richard J. Arsenault, Jonathan C. Augustine, Lee H. Ayres, Dawn M. Barrios, Leah Barron, Henry M. Bernstein, Erin S. Beyer, Martin S. Bohman, James A. Bolen Jr., Judge Frances M. Bouillion, Jude Bourque, John O. Charrier Jr., Richard A. Chopin, Lisa E. Ciolino, John D. Cosmich, Mary K. Cryar, Timothy F. Daniels, Judge Rebecca F. Doherty, Frank A. Fertitta, Jennifer Fiore, Marion D. Floyd, David G. Galyon, Anna L. Garcie, Vance A. Gibbs, Judge David S. Gorbaty, Stacey F. Gottlieb, Helen Popich Harris, Judge C. Michael Hill, Judge Thomas Hogan, Judge Guy Holdridge, C. Frank Holthaus, Sheryl M. Howard, Wade T. Howard, David A. Hurlburt, Dan Jacks, Reeve G. (Jay) Jacobus Jr., Brittany Keil, Judge Robert J. Klees, Judge Daniel E. Knowles III, Madeline J. Lee, Catherine M. Maraist, Michele R. Morel, John W. Norwood III, Darrel J. Papillion, Mary Carol Parker, Michael A. Patterson, Stephanie K. Pell, Jeffrey W. Post, Walter M. Sanchez, Richard A. Sherburne, Ronald J. Sholes, Marshall J. Simien Jr., Sharon D. Smith, Kevin Thompson, Alexander C. Van Hook, Nelson W. Wagar III, Edward J. Walters, William R. Warne, S.A. (Bud) Watson Jr. and Judge Laurie A. White.

The program is made possible in part by a grant from the Houston Law firm of Vinson & Elkins.