LSU Law Center Confers Degrees at Commencement Exercises, May 22

The Order of the Coif. Bottom row: (l to r) Professor Andrea Carroll; Judge Ernestine Gray; Chancellor Jack Weiss; Jennie Jackson Miller; Christina Ashley Fannin Welch; Jennifer Lynn Keefe; Brandee Ketchum; Professor Randall Trahan; Professor Lucy McGough. Middle row: (l to r) Charles Edward Tabor; Jessica L. Gladney; Kelly Jasena Kromer Boudreaux; Alexandra Leigh Clark; Sara Strogner Brehm; Sean Thomas McLaughlin; David Thames Grand, Jr. Top row: (l to r) Louis Edward Layrisson, III; Benjamin West Janke; Lauren Ashleigh Fritz; Yvette Karlene Schultz; Joshua Allen DeCuir; David Phillip Hamm, Jr. Not pictured: Louis O. Ducote, II; Brook Marie Landry Thibodeaux.

Dignitaries at Paul M. Hebert Law Center Commencement Exercises. From left to right: Hank Gowen, LSU Board of Supervisors member; Charles Weems, LSU Board of Supervisors member; Gov. Bobby Jindal; Chancellor Jack Weiss; LSU Board of Supervisors Chairman Jerry Shea; LSU System President John Lombardi; and James Roy, LSU Board of Supervisors member.

The Paul M. Hebert Law Center awarded degrees to 190 students at commencement exercises held May 22 in the Pete Maravich Assembly Center. One hundred eighty-three students received the Juris Doctor (J.D.) and Bachelor of Civil Law (B.C.L.). Seven students – representing five countries, including France, Argentina, Canada and China – received the Master of Laws (LL.M.).

The ceremonies were presided over by Chancellor Jack M. Weiss, while Jerry E. Shea, Jr., chairman of the LSU Board of Supervisors, assisted in the conferring of degrees

Gov. Bobby Jindal served as Commencement speaker. John N. Gallaspy spoke on behalf of the LSU Law Class of 1958, which celebrated its 50th reunion following Commencement.

Earlier in the day, ceremonies were held to honor the 2008 student members of The Order of the Coif in the Law Center’s McKernan Law Auditorium. In all, 19 students were inducted into The Order, which is the highest academic honor that graduating law students may receive.

Speaking as honorary member of The Order of the Coif was the Hon. Ernestine Steward Gray, a 1976 alumna of the Law Center. She has served as judge of the Orleans Parish Juvenile Court since 1984 and has received numerous awards for her community work, professional leadership and advocacy for court and services improvement for children.