Young Alumni Leadership Council Meets for First Time

Chancellor Jack Weiss announced the formation of a newly created Young Alumni Leadership Council. The council, comprised of 20 members representing alums from the past 10 graduating classes, “will offer feedback on ways in which the Law Center can be responsive in preparing students for the ever-changing practice of law,” said Chancellor Weiss. He asked the group to serve as “the eyes and ears for the law school in their worlds.”

The group will also serve as ambassadors who can testify to the value of an LSU Law legal education; bring new ideas to LSU Law from their respective regions; and assist in recruitment of outstanding students to the Law Center.

The distinguished membership hails from five states, in addition to Louisiana, and represents a wide range of practice areas. The group held its first meeting in Baton Rouge on December 7 – 8.

Seventeen of 20 members met for dinner and were addressed by Kimberly Robinson (’98), Special Counsel to Governor Kathleen Blanco, who shared a fascinating, first-hand account of the realities of working with the federal government in the days and months following Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.

The following morning, members heard from LSU Law Professors Chris Pietruszkiewicz on changes in the demographics of law school applicants and Professor Lucy McGough who discussed the Law Center’s plans for clinical legal education. Irina Fox (1L), one of the founders of the Law Center’s new International Law Society, unveiled the Society’s plans for promoting the international applicability of the study of civil law.

John Spain, executive vice president of the Baton Rouge Area Foundation, gave members a first look at an exciting new campaign for south Louisiana, tentatively referred to as, “To Bring Energy to Life.” Focused on the I-10/12 corridor, the program is directed “outward and inward,” according to Spain, “with a message that both heralds and supports economic development of the corridor from Lake Charles through the Northshore.”

The Council returns to campus in the spring.

Alums named to the Council are:


Catherine Maraist

U.S. Attorney’s Office
Baton Rouge, LA

Kimberly Robinson

Office of the Governor
Special Counsel
State of Louisiana
Baton Rouge, LA


Jeffrey B. Norman

City of Atlanta
Department of Law
Atlanta, GA

Melanie Mulcahy

Derbes Law Firm, L.L.C.
Metairie, LA


Norma Bennett

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
Houston, TX

Kevin Ainsworth

Jones,Walker, Waechter, Poitevent, Carrère & Denègre
Baton Rouge, LA


Raley Alford III

Stanley Flanagan & Reuter
New Orleans, LA

Laurence J. Centola

Martzell & Bickford
New Orleans, LA


Annie LeBlanc

Jackson & Walker
Dallas, TX

Russell Mosely

Mosely Law Firm, LLC
Baton Rouge, LA


Stephen LaFleur

Gold, Weems, Bruser, Sues & Rundell
Alexandria, LA

Kyle Bacon

Perrett Doise APLC
Lafayette, LA


Dallon Bush

Percy & Percy
Gonzales, LA

Oscar M. Gwin, IV

Christovich & Kearney
New Orleans, LA


Julie Baxter

Moore, Walter, Thompson, Thomas, Papillion & Cullens
Baton Rouge, LA

Kerrie Crockett

Miami Dade State Attorneys Office
Miami, FL


Nathan Gaudet

Sullivan, Stolier & Resor
New Orleans, LA

Brian Su

Howrey Law Firm
Washington, DC


Slattery Johnson

Blanchard, Walker, O’Quin & Roberts
Shreveport, LA

Lucie Kantrow

Phelps Dunbar
Baton Rouge, LA