Skip to main content
LSU Law Logo

History of the CCLS

Professor Joseph Dainow

Professor Saúl Litvinoff

The CCLS was established in 1965 as a division of the then LSU Law School for the purpose of preserving and enhancing the civil law component of the Louisiana legal system. Professor Joseph Dainow, a distinguished scholar formed as a civilian in his native province of Quebec in Canada, was the first director of the CCLS and, during his term, the writing of treatises on the law of property and the law of obligations were started, as well as translations of important works of French doctrine. In 1975, Professor Saúl Litvinoff was appointed to succeed him, and during his period several volumes of the ongoing treatises were finished, and books on jurisprudence, Louisiana substantive law, and numerous monographs saw the light. In 2005, Professor Olivier Moréteau came from France to occupy the Senator Russell Long Chair of Excellence and assume the direction of the CCLS.

For a more complete note by Professor Saúl Litvinoff