LSU Law Login
LSU Law HomeProspective StudentsCurrent StudentsFaculty & StaffAlumni & FriendsEmployers & Legal Community
A-Z IndexAbout LSU LawLibraryContact UsSearch 
Restrict by category:

LSU Law News

June 2007

LSU Law Recognizes Honor Students for Spring 2007
June 19, 2007

LSU Law Chancellor John J. Costonis has named 118 students to the Chancellor’s List for Spring 2007.
The honor is given in recognition of outstanding academic achievement in an individual semester for students earning a 3.2 semester average or above on a minimum of 13 hours credit.

Bradley Joseph Aldrich, Baton Rouge, LA
Benjamin Mckay Anderson, Greenwell Springs, LA
Brandi Nicole Bayles, West Monroe, LA
Kristen Elizabeth Bell, Baton Rouge, LA
David P.  Borghardt, Baton Rouge, LA
Clinton Matthew Bowers, Baton Rouge, LA
Richard Harmon Drew III, Minden, LA
Matthew Robert Emmons, Ponchatoula, LA
Grant Joseph Guillot, Baton Rouge, LA
Justin Thomas Ittmann, Baton Rouge, LA
William Bradley Kline, Zachary, LA
Peyton Christian Lambert, Covington, LA
Matthew Scott Lejeune, Baton Rouge, LA
Jerome H. Moroux, Lafayette, LA
Jessica Lynn Orgeron, Harahan, LA
John M. Parker, Baton Rouge, LA
Jaime Beth Petenko, Baton Rouge, LA
Devin Chase Reid, Prairieville, LA

Read More >
Students and Professor Represent Law Center at LSU Board of Supervisors Meeting
June 6, 2007
Recent Law Center graduates Laranda Moffett and Jacob Kantrow were presented to the LSU Board of Supervisors on Friday, June 1 by Chancellor John Costonis. The students addressed members of the Board, LSU System President William Jenkin's and other dignitaries.
The students discussed their experiences at the Law Center and their plans for the future as 2007 graduates. “Ms. Moffett and Mr. Kantrow are outstanding examples of the students we enroll and graduate in today’s LSU Law Center,” said Chancellor Costonis. Ms. Moffett offered the Board’s invocation, and Mr. Kantrow recited the Pledge of Allegiance as the meeting was convened.
Professor Lucy McGough also addressed the Board on her scholarship at the Law Center. She is the Vinson and Elkins Professor of Law.
Read More >
Chancellor Costonis Honored at LSU Board of Supervisors Meeting
June 6, 2007
Chancellor John Costonis was honored by the LSU Board of Supervisors on Friday, June 1 for his leadership at the LSU Law Center over the past nine years. Costonis will return to the faculty to teach, effective July 1, 2007.
Board members and LSU System President William Jenkins recognized the Chancellor’s accomplishments, acknowledging his role in comprehensive improvements at the Law Center. Among those accomplishments are:
• The student/faculty ratio improved from 16.94 in 1997-98 to 14:1 in 2006-07.

• The Law Center’s spending per student increased from $11,922 in 1997-98 to $26,529 in 2005-06.

• Applicants for the first-year class have grown from 965 in 1998-99 to 1,354 in 2006-07. Of these, 577 were Louisiana residents and 777 were nonresidents.

• Scholarship funding increased from $574,553 in 1997-98 to $2,466,866 in 2005-06.

• That student-centered goals motivated much of the $17 million renovation as evidenced by the...
Read More >


Paul M. Hebert Law Center   |    1 E. Campus Dr.   |    Louisiana State University   |    Baton Rouge, LA 70803   |   225/578-5292