LSU Law Login
LSU Law HomeProspective StudentsCurrent StudentsFaculty & StaffAlumni & FriendsEmployers & Legal Community
A-Z IndexAbout LSU LawLibraryContact UsSearch 
Restrict by category:

LSU Law News

April 2012

ADVISORY: Information and Instructions for Graduates – Class of 2012
April 26, 2012
The LSU Law Center will hold Commencement Exercises on Friday, May 25, 2012, beginning at 9:30 a.m. in the Pete Maravich Assembly Center located on the LSU Campus. The Honorable J. Bennett Johnston, former U.S. Senator from Louisiana and distinguished LSU Law alum, will serve as Commencement speaker.
Read More >
Chancellor Appoints Professors Smith and Diamond as Vice Chancellors
April 18, 2012
Chancellor Jack M. Weiss has announced two key administrative appointments at the LSU Law Center: N. Gregory Smith, the Professional Ethics Professor of Law, will serve as Vice Chancellor for Finance/Business Affairs and Raymond T. Diamond, the Jules F. and Francis T. Landry Distinguished Professor of Law, will serve in the newly created position of Vice Chancellor for Faculty Development and Institutional Assessment.
Read More >
Pugh Institute for Justice Welcomes Ruby Bridges to LSU Law Center
April 11, 2012
Ruby Bridges, the first African-American child to integrate New Orleans public schools, spoke to the LSU Law Center community on April 5, 2012. The lecture was sponsored by the George W. and Jean H. Pugh Institute for Justice.
Read More >
Louisiana Bar Foundation to Honor Pascal and McKenzie
April 11, 2012

The Louisiana Bar Foundation will honor Professor Robert A. Pascal as Distinguished Professor and alumnus W. Shelby McKenzie as Distinguished Attorney at the 26th Annual Fellows Gala on April 20, 2012.  The event will be held at the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans.

Professor Robert A. Pascal obtained his J.D. from Loyola University, New Orleans in 1939, a Master of Civil Law from Louisiana State University in 1940, and a Master of Laws from the University of Michigan in 1942. He joined the law faculty of Louisiana State University in 1945, where he taught with distinction for 35 years until he became Professor Emeritus in 1980. He has taught at the University of Chicago Law School, at the University of Rome, Italy, and at Loyola University, New Orleans.

W. Shelby McKenzie ('64) of Taylor Porter Brooks & Phillips, chaired the LSU Law Center's Forever LSU Campaign, is a former chair of the LSU Law Alumni Board of Trustees, and received the LSU Law Center Distinguished Alumnus of the...

Read More >
Federal Bar Association Moot Court Team Places in Top 8 Nationally
April 10, 2012


The LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center’s Federal Bar Association (FBA) Moot Court Team placed in the Top 8 nationally when they competed at the FBAs Thurgood Marshall National Moot Court Competition that was held in Washington, D.C. March 29 through 31.  This was the Law Center’s first time competing at the competition. Jonathan Moore and Lindsay Jarrell advanced through multiple rounds ultimately placing in the Top 8.  James Sudduth and Donna Lee advanced out of the preliminary rounds to the 16th round.

This competition is held in conjunction with the FBA’s annual meeting, and judges included federal court practitioners and federal judges from around the country.  This year’s problem dealt with...

Read More >
LSU Law Center to Host U.S. Army War College, April 18
April 9, 2012
The LSU Law Center has been chosen again this year to host the U.S. Army War College Eisenhower Series College Program on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 at 5:00 p.m. in the McKernan Auditorium at the Law Center. The event is free and open to the public.
Read More >
Trial Advocacy Board Elects Officers for 2012-13 Academic Year
April 9, 2012

The Trial Advocacy Board of the Paul M. Hebert Law Center at Louisiana State University is pleased to announce and congratulate the newly elected officers who have been elected for 2012-13 school year:

Rikki Weger, President

Barry Edwards, Vice-President of Internal Competitions

William Macke, Vice-President of Internal Competitions

Arthur Kraatz, Vice-President of External Competitions

Drew Nordgren, Vice-President of Judge and Faculty Relations

Jeremy Ancar, Vice-President of Media and Outreach

Donna Lee, ABA Arbitration Chair

Cassandra Jelincic, National Trial Chair


Anna Brown

Kelly Burris

Valerie Fontenot

Haley Jones

Arthur Mitchell

Lalla Morris

Christopher Moss

William Priestley

Je'Rell Rogers

Dan Schilling

James Sudduth

Reshonda Thompson

Arvind Viswanathan

Ed Waters

Bill Willis

Joshua Wood

Read More >
2012-13 Moot Court Board Officers
April 9, 2012

The Moot Court Board of the Paul M. Hebert Law Center at Louisiana State University is pleased to announce and congratulate the newly elected officers who have been elected for the 2012-13 school year:

Anna Brown, President

Michael Heier, Vice-President of Internal Competitions

Chelsea Gomez, Vice-President of External Competitions

Katherine Lagow, Vice-President of Judge and Faculty Relations

Lauren Thompson, Vice-President of Media and Outreach

Members of the 2012-2013 Moot Court Board:

•  Jessica Allain

•  Mark Assad

•  Christopher Caswell

•  Christopher Cummings

•   Jessica Engler

•   Andrew Heacock

•   Heidi Kemple

•   Arthur Kraatz

•   Caroline Massey

•   Thomas McCall

•   William Priestley

•   Scott Raney

•   John Simmons

•   Matthew Smith

•   Sarah Trufant

•   Edward Waters

•   Rikki Weger

Read More >
Allain and Cvitanovic Place First in LSU Law’s Arbitration Competition
April 5, 2012

Jessica Allain and Dominic Cvitanovic placed first in LSU Law's first ever Arbitration Competition on March 24, 2012. Competitors were required to argue both sides of a mock arbitration involving a dispute between a former employee and a corporation over the course of three days. Lani Gholston and Michael Heier placed second in the competition, and Bradley Pierson and Melanie Johnson placed third. Jessica Allain won an award for the Best Advocate in the final round, and Michael Heier won an award for the Best Advocate in the preliminary rounds. Special thanks are due to our esteemed final round arbitrators, Mr. Don Frattini and the Honorable Robert Burns, Sr.

Arbitration is a dispute resolution process in which the disputing parties present their case to a third party intermediary (or a panel of arbitrators) that examine all the evidence and then make a decision for the parties. This decision is typically binding. Like court-based adjudication, arbitration is adversarial. However,...

Read More >
2012 LSU Law Class Reunion Day
April 3, 2012
Graduates from the classes of 2007, 2002, 1992, 1982 and 1972 celebrated their respective class reunions on Friday, March 30. The day began in the McKernan Auditorium with a great panel discussion on Practical Legal Education: What is it, and how much of it do we want? The reunion day culminated with a buffet dinner and reception at the LSU Faculty Club.
Read More >


Paul M. Hebert Law Center   |    1 E. Campus Dr.   |    Louisiana State University   |    Baton Rouge, LA 70803   |   225/578-5292