LSU Law Center faculty and students and LSU Baton Rouge campus faculty and graduate students must present a valid LSU ID card at the circulation desk to borrow materials. Other persons allowed to use the library may not check out materials, but may make copies as appropriate. If the materials to be copied are in the Reserve Room, they may be checked out for not more than two hours upon depositing with the appropriate personnel a valid Louisiana driver's license or Louisiana photo-identification card, which shall be considered pledged until the materials are returned.
Materials circulate to LSU Law students as follows:
Books on reserve may be checked out during library hours and returned within two hours of the time checked out. Books on reserve and designated for overnight use may be charged out during the last two hours the library is open and must be returned during the first two hours of the next day the library is open. Materials may be renewed twice unless there are others waiting to use the materials.
Generally, any single volume book shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors or the 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection, circulates for the semester. These materials are due on the last day of exams. These books are subject to recall if required by another person or if needed to be put on reserve.
Most books are restricted and do not circulate. These materials include such items as multi-volume treatises, looseleafs, journals, and primary source authorities such as reporters and statutes. If you have a question regarding whether an item circulates, please ask the Circulation Supervisor or a Librarian.
Video, Audio and Software
Videos, audio cassettes and software not on Class Reserve circulate for 4 days. Most of these materials need to be retrieved by the Circulation Staff or a Reference Librarian.
Materials may be renewed at the Circulation Desk (578-8814) or online.
The Law Library does not charge fines for overdue materials. However, the Library expects its materials to be returned promptly or renewed. Overdue notices will be emailed to students. Materials not returned will be treated as lost. See below for more information.
Lost or Damaged Materials
The cost of replacement or repair of damaged items must be paid by the person who charged out the item. If the Circulation Librarian is notified that an item is lost, the amount due will be the total of the processing fee ($30) and the replacement cost. If the lost item is found and returned after the fees have been paid, the total paid will be refunded through the LSU Bursar's Office. The processing fee will not be refunded.