Winter 2015

Professor Baier was featured at the Midwinter meeting of the State Bar Association on same-gender marriage, including his role as constitutional counsel in Costanza v. Caldwell, which declared unconstitutional Louisiana's prohibition of same-gender marriage. See him in action here.

Professor Philip Hackney was cited on the TaxProf Blog on Jan. 20, 2016. Check out the article by Chodorow & Hackney: Post-Graduate Legal Training — The Case For Tax-Exempt Programs

Professor Philip Hackney is quoted in the San Francisco Chronicle article, Super Bowl committee raising millions, with little transparency.

Fall 2015

Professor Luis F.B. Plascencia of Arizona State University recently cited Professor Darlene Goring’s article, In Service to America: Naturalization of Undocumented Alien Veterans, in his essay, The military gates to US citizenship: Latina/o “aliens and non-citizen nationals” and military work.

Professor Christina Sautter’s book chapter, Tender Offers and Disclosure: The History and Future of the Williams Act, is forthcoming in the Research Handbook on Mergers and Acquisitions to be published by Edward Elgar Publishing Ltd. and edited by Professors Claire Hill and Steven Davidoff Solomon.

Associate Dean Raymond Diamond was recently interviewed on LPB’s “Louisiana: The State We’re In” regarding the constitutionality of recent gubernatorial attempts to forestall the entry of Syrian refugees into their states.

Professor Ken Levy’s article, US law reviews’ dirty game: review by student,” published through the Times Higher Education, has been posted on the Tax Prof Blog and Brian Leiter’s Law School Reports.

Continue Reading
Tom Galligan
LSU has named Thomas C. Galligan Jr., currently the president of Colby-Sawyer College, as the next dean of the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center, effective July 1.
711 Law building from tower
The LSU Journal of Energy Law and Resources is delighted to announce the Junior Associates who are selected to the Volume V Board of Editors. The Volume IV Board had the difficult task of making this selection from an outstanding group of candidates. We thank you all for your interest in and dedication to the LSU Journal of Energy Law and Resources. Congratulations!
The Louisiana Law Review is proud to announce and congratulate the Junior Associates who are selected to the Volume 77 Board of Editors. The Volume 76 Board received excellent candidates, and we thank everyone for applying. Serving on the Board of Editors of the Louisiana Law Review is a singular honor, and we wish the best of luck to the new Board!
Internet Image
The LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center offers a Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Program where law student volunteers provide free tax preparation services for federal and state income taxes to foreign students, teachers and researchers that qualify as non-resident taxpayers. Individuals who have F, J, M, or Q visas are eligible for assistance.
Congratulations to the Law Center's American Bar Association Competition team of Robert Cavell, Caitlin Cline, Rome Gonsoulin, and Matthew Roth, who placed fifth in the nation at the Arbitration Competition's national championships, which were held Jan. 20-23, 2016, at the American Bar Association's headquarters in Chicago, IL.
The LSU Law Center has announced the names of those law students who earned academic honors for the Fall 2015 semester.